Participating Cities

The Cities Footprint Project has focused its efforts in 3 Andean cities; La Paz (Bolivia), Quito (Ecuador) y Lima (Perú), due to their vulnerability to climate change, specially in the sphere of water resources. A favorable environment exists for the implementation of the project, given that the cities have developed an important base of strategies (plans, policies, programs and projects) related to climate change mitigation and adaptation.

The project is implemented in the 3 cities due the official requests for support from the Mayors to the financers, in the assessment of Carbon and Water Footprints and traduce these into climate change strategies.

La Paz - Bolivia

The city of La Paz (official name: Nuestra Señora de La Paz) is the administrative capital or seat of government of Bolivia. Founded on the 20th of October 1548, it is a city and municipality in the West of Bolivia and is capital of the department of La Paz. The 2001 census reported a population of 793,293 inhabitants in the municipality of La Paz. The 2010 population was estimated to be 834,848 in 2012 this rose to 835,481 inhabitants1.1


The municipality of La Paz, administrated by the Autonomous Municipal Government of La Paz (GAMLP), occupies an area of 2012 km2 of which 1832 km2 is rural, hence the urban area covers 180 km2. It is situated in an intertropical zone at the extreme north of the Altiplano plateau in the valley formed by the Choqueyapu river basin. The centre of the city is at an altitude of approximately 3,650 metres above sea level. The topography of the urban area is characterised by a distinctive hollow together with many neighbourhoods located on the slopes of the city which make it unique.

Read more

Lima - Perú

The Lima region is constituted by the Department of Lima which consists of 10 provinces. Metropolitan Lima unites 43 districts of the province of Lima and is the most representative urban area of the department. The Province of Lima occupies an area of 2,670 km2. This figure represents 0.21% of the area of the country and only 6.6% of the area of the department of Lima. As a result of urbanisation, the percentage of rural population has decreased and almost the whole population of Lima lives in urban areas. In 2007, the urban population represented 99.87% of the total population, as a result of which the rural population is now very unrepresentative of the composition of the population of Lima.


Read more

Quito - Ecuador

The Metropolitan District of Quito (DMQ) is the capital city of Ecuador and the province of Pichincha; it is the second largest city, in size and population, in Ecuador. It is located in the valley of Guayllabamba on the Eastern slopes of the active Pichincha stratovolcano, in the Western part of the Andes, and its average altitude is 2,800 metres above sea level. The Metropolitan District of Quito (DMQ) is divided into 8 administration zones, which contain 32 urban parishes and 33 rural parishes. The parishes are divided into neighbourhoods. Nearly 70% of the population of the DMQ is concentrated in the urban area, which occupies less than 10% of the territory. The rural population on the other hand represents close to 30% of the total population in a space which is more than 90% of the total territory.


Read more


1 On the basis of the average annual growth rate of 1.00007 used by the National Statistics Institute – INE (2013).